What countries does my car insurance cover me to drive in?

Published 10/06/2016 01.50 PM   |    Updated 16/06/2017 09.49 AM

When you insure your car with LV=, in addition to being covered to drive anywhere in the UK, Northern Ireland, the Isle of Man or the Channel Islands,  you also have the minimum level of insurance cover needed to drive in the European Union.

For extra peace of mind, choose our optional European cover. It will give you the same level of cover you have in the UK (Comprehensive or Third Party, Fire and Theft) for trips lasting up to 180 consecutive days. (This extra cover isn't available if you take out Third Party only cover.)

To find out more, watch this short video about the benefits of choosing European cover.


Alternatively, scan through our complete list of countries you're entitled to drive in if you choose to include European cover on your car insurance: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canary Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Vatican State. We can also insure you in the following countries on request:Albania, Morocco, Turkey. We can't insure you in the following countries: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran, Israel, Macedonia, Moldova, Russia, Serbia and Montenegro, Tunisia, Ukraine. If you don't have European cover then your insurance provides the minimum compulsory insurance in EU countries, and any other country which follows EU directives. These countries are shown on your schedule.

Did we answer your question?